Mark Seymour – King Without A Clue

King Without A Clue (cover)

King Without A Clue (cover)


Mark Seymour’s first solo album from 1997, released before Hunters and Collectors broke up. Acoustic based rock.

Released In: [Australia / NZ]

Release Date: 22 September 1997.

Australian Chart Position: #53 (ARIA) / #35 (AMR).

Availability: Moderately common. Available new in digital form.

Value: A$8-A$26.



Track Listing(s)


 Highly recommended track.
 Commercial single.
 Promotional single.


Version: Mushroom Records Australian CD album.

Album length: 45 minutes, 45 seconds.

ReplayGain loudness: -7.64dB (1997).

  1. Last Ditch Cabaret 
  2. You Don’t Have To Cry Anymore 
  3. The Ghost Of Vainglory 
  4. King Without A Clue
  5. Look What She’s Done To You 
  6. Home Again 
  7. Deathwish
  8. Cry Wolf
  9. Can’t Crawl That Way
  10. The One You Love 
  11. Until The Day They Die


The bonus live acoustic CD for “King Without A Clue” is very common.

Version: Mushroom Records Live At The Continental CD EP.

Album length: 25 minutes, 29 seconds.

ReplayGain loudness: -5.13dB (1997).

  1. Radio Death Song 
  2. Can’t Crawl That Way
  3. The Ghost Of Vainglory
  4. Home Again
  5. Richard Cory 
  6. Look What She’s Done To You 



Version: Four Track CD Promo Sampler.

Album length: 17 minutes, 22 seconds.

ReplayGain loudness: N/A.

  1. Last Ditch Cabaret 
  2. You Don’t Have To Cry 
  3. Deathwish
  4. Look What She’s Done 





Liner Notes

Mark Seymour: vocals, rhythm guitar
Barry Palmer: lead guitar
Nick Seymour: bass guitar, backing vocals
Peter Jones: drums, percussion

All songs written by Mark Seymour except
Home Again (M. Seymour / B. Palmer)
Look What She’s Done To You (M. Seymour / B. Palmer)
The Ghost Of Vainglory (M. Seymour / B. Palmer)
Until The Day They Die (M. Seymour / B. Palmer)

Recorded & mixed at Sing Sing Studios, Melbourne Australia.
Except The Ghost Of Vainglory, mixed at AXIS Studios New York
and King Without A Clue, mixed at A&M Studio’s, Los Angeles
Mastered at Masterdisc, New York by Greg Calbi

Produced by: Barry Palmer
Production Engineer: Kalju Tonuma
Assisted by: Will Burston & Matt Voigt
Additional Overdubs: Stuart Day
Mixed by: Patrick McCarthy
Assisted by: Adam Rhodes

Special thanks to: Jo Vautier & Michael Roberts
for pushing me and Barry, Nick, Johnsey & Kal…
everyone came to this project with
an “open mind” which is a rare and precious thing…

Also thanks to Bill Page for the wisdom and
Michael Gudinski for the money…
everyone at Sing Sing and finally the GROMITS…
Eva & Hannah who got me up in the morning…

Special thanks to Sarah Pearson, Chris Grosz,
Revolver and Maton Guitars.

“A song is anything that can walk by itself” Bob Dylan
“Never take the future for granter” Walter Mikac

Direction: Michael Roberts
Loud & Clear Management
Michael Roberts, Petula Bier
PO Box 276 Albert Park, Victoria Australia 3206.
Fx: 61 3 9537 1371 email:

Photography: Tony Notaberardino (cover) Jo Vautier (inside)
Design: Andrew Murabito @ Mushroom Art