Mark Seymour 2007 Biography

A short 2007 Mark Seymour biography.

Author: Liberation Records.

Date: 7 June 2007.

Original URL:


Article Text

Mark Seymour was born in Benalla and grew up in country Victoria. His family was musical. Paula, his mother, encouraged all her children to sing and play musical instruments. Mark learned classical piano for a time, but found the technical discipline a little challenging and soon moved onto guitar in his early
adolescence. The family moved to Melbourne in 1972.

Life in the outer suburbs was, as many of us well know, excruciatingly boring, and though Mark was a conscientious student, he found that there was simply not enough to do, particularly as his family were deeply religious Catholics. For Mark, adolescence was dead time. The brakes were on and stayed that way pretty much until he graduated from Melbourne Uni in 1978 and became a schoolteacher two years later. At that time he realised, in a rare moment of clarity, that his life was going the wrong way entirely and that drastic action was required.

Towards the end of his formal education he began going out to pubs to watch rock bands. Around the turn of the decade in Melbourne, there were bands aplenty in Melbourne and Mark became hooked on volume and cold beer.

Mark formed Hunters and Collectors in 1980, with a bunch of Uni friends. It was a rollicking eight-piece funk ensemble with industrial percussion, “bizarre” atonal synthesizer, thundering bass guitar and a brass section that was so demonically loud that it became known as the “Horns of Contempt”.

In it’s early form Hunters and Collectors was less like a band, and more like a monstrous “jam session” loosely tied to melody and words, which Mark provided, when he was audible. At times there were as many as fifty souls on stage as audience members joined the parade. Instruments were frequently stolen. However, all was not chaos. The band became famous for its rhythmic power and very quickly became touted as the ” next big thing” which is an Australian euphemism for a poppy that grows too fast, which Hunters and Collectors truly was.

The Album “Human Frailty” was recorded in Melbourne in 1985. This record has proven to be one of the most important and enduring records of the eighties and Hunters and Collectors were still playing a large part of this cut in 1998 when they retired. With “Human Frailty” Mark discovered, love, loss, and pop melody. His solo records are directly connected to this era and bear the same stamp of raw honesty and emotional power.

Hunters and Collectors went on to record five more albums, and became a huge touring operation. By 1998, Mark felt that he had done all that he could as the front man of Hunters and Collectors. In that year he plunged into the unknown. After eighteen years of touring with what became one of Australia’s most successful and deeply loved rock bands, he found himself alone on stage with just an acoustic guitar.

In going solo Mark has discovered a new and refreshing intensity in his voice that he believed he had lost in the band. His work has developed and grown around this simple and direct approach to performing. He continues to search for the emotional truth in a song. Mark Seymour’s strength as a performer remains undiminished despite the ever-present shadow of the band he used to be in.

Seymour has recently completed his fifth solo album “Westgate.” Produced by Cameron McKenzie, “Westgate” follows a very simple formula. Make sounds you’d like to hear, as opposed to what others expect. It is stark and simple. It is a dark evocation of the suffering and dignity of ordinary people. It is, as Seymour likes to put it, a “eulogy to the greatness of ordinary people.”

In his own words he says, “On this album I have gone in search of ordinary greatness; greatness without bombast, the kind of greatness that conservative politicians can’t touch. These are stories of working people who have suffered and triumphed quietly. Perhaps, as the world teeters on the precipice of disaster, there is still hope, for we only have to scratch the surface of history to discover that the best of human nature lies in the forgotten tragedies and hidden triumphs, where ordinary people have found dignity and redemption in their own lives. These are the stories that define us. Human beings have unlimited potential. No challenge is too great.”

Mark Seymour lives quietly (sometimes) with his wife Jo and their two beautiful daughters Eva and Hannah, somewhere on the Australian coast.


  • 1980 H&C born in Melbourne as a brash nouveau-rock experiment with brass and found percussion.
  • 1982 Self-titled album includes dark club classic Talking To A Stranger.
  • 1983 The Fireman’s Curse made in Germany with ground breaking Krautrock producer, Conny Plank.
  • 1984 Jaws Of Life consolidates new line-up, more distilled rock style. First of seven versions of classic single, Throw Your Arms Around Me.
  • 1985 Live LP, The Way To Go Out.
  • 1986 Breakthrough Human Frailty LP pursues more melodic direction. It reaches Top 10, spawns 4 singles.
  • 1987 What’s A Few Men? Issued in USA as Fate.
  • 1989 Ghost Nation: 2 x platinum LP is another Australian classic, nominated for several ARIAs, later named in Rolling Stone’s top 100 Australian Albums of all time.
  • 1990 Collected works, 1982-1990 compilation released with new version of Throw Your Arms Around Me.
  • 1991 H&C nominated for Best Australian Group ARIA
  • 1993 Cut LP revisits percussive feel of earliest work, hits #4, nominated for
  • Best Australian Album ARIA.
  • 1994 Rock album Demon Flower hits another all-time chart high.
  • 1997 Solo debut, King Without A Clue, earns ARIA nominations for Best Male Artist and Best Debut single, for Last Ditch Cabaret.
  • 1998 H&C disband after Juggernaut LP and tour.
  • 1998 Mark receives his second Best Male Artist ARIA nomination.
  • 2001 Throw Your Arms Around Me (now covered by Crowded House & Pearl Jam, to name but a couple) named in APRAs Top 30 Australian songs of all time.
  • 2001 Mark’s second solo release, dark pop album, One Eyed Man, released and wins Best Adult Contemporary ARIA.
  • 2001 Ballad of The One Eyed Man live CD / DVD released.
  • 2003 Natural Selection (H&C compilation) released on CD and DVD.
  • 2004 Wry suburban drama highlights Mark’s next release, Embedded CD, featuring: In The Kitchen of A Perfect Home, A Shoulder To Cry On and 43 In The Shade.
  • 2005 Daytime & The Dark, Liberation Blue acoustic album released. Mark re-visits past Hunters & Collectors and solo material, re-working these and recording them in stripped down acoustic format.
  • 2005 Hunters & Collectors are inducted into the ARIA Hall Of Fame.
  • 2005 Mutations (H&C rarities) released on CD.
  • 2007 Human Frailty CD and new bonus DVD re-release, for its 20th anniversary.
  • 2007 Mark Seymour release his fifth studio work, “Westgate”, which is arguably his most raw, dramatic and challenging work since Ghost Nation or Human Frailty. |
For further information please contact Erin Jameson
Telephone: (03) 9695 7899 Email