Hunters & Collectors Tribute Album Revealed

Offical public release on the Hunters and Collectors tribute album Crucible.

Author: Mushroom.

Date: 8 August 2013.

Original URL:


Article Text

Hunters & Collectors, one of Australia’s most iconic bands, will be honoured on a 15-track tribute album released on Friday 27 September through Liberation Music.

Crucible – The Songs Of Hunters & Collectors features a number of unique collaborations (Eddie Vedder and Neil Finn; Paul Kelly and Emma Donovan featuring Jimblah; and Matt Corby and Missy Higgins) and an exclusive Avalanches remix alongside reinterpretations from some of this country’s biggest artists.

The full Crucible tracklisting is:

1. Birds Of Tokyo – Talking To A Stranger
2. Eddie Vedder & Neil Finn – Throw Your Arms Around Me
3. Matt Corby & Missy Higgins – This Morning
4. Oh Mercy – The Slab (Betty’s Worry)
5. Alpine – Hear No Evil
6. The Living End – Say Goodbye
7. Paul Kelly & Emma Donovan (featuring Jimblah) – True Tears Of Joy
8. The Rubens – Holy Grail
9. Husky – Blind Eye
10. Something For Kate – When The River Runs Dry
11. The Panics – Alligator Engine
12. Abbe May – Dog
13. British India – Do You See What I See?
14. Cloud Control – Still Hanging ‘Round
15. The Avalanches – Stalking To A Stranger (Planets Collide Remix)


Hunters & Collectors formed in Melbourne in 1981, their legendary live shows quickly winning them a devoted following. Over nine albums and a 17-year career, the band evolved from an experimental post-punk/agit-funk collective to one of this country’s tightest live acts with a string of classic songs to their name. Hunters & Collectors split in 1998; they performed two songs at the 2005 ARIA Awards to celebrate their induction into the ARIA Hall Of Fame, and played at the 2009 Melbourne Sound Relief concert.

Hunters & Collectors frontman Mark Seymour says, “I have to say, it is deeply rewarding for me as a writer to know that beyond the years and all the hard work that was done in the crucible of the Australian suburbs, the songs of Hunters & Collectors have reached the cream of Australia’s talent, great singers and bands young and older… who have stepped up to record the best of what we delivered in those pubs so many years ago.

“I am honoured by the respect they have shown. Songs are what we share, and sharing itself is crucial to our identity as a people.”

Crucible – 30 songs, featuring 15 stunning tributes and 15 original recordings – will be available for pre-order from Friday 9 August from Sanity, iTunes and JB Hi-Fi.

You can check out Hunters & Collectors’ original tracks as featured on Crucible below.