Mark Seymour & The Undertow New Album Slow Dawn Out Today

An article about Mark Seymour’s new Slow Dawn album.

Author: Andrew McMillen, The Weekend Australian Magazine.

Date: 29 May 2020.

Original URL:


Article Text

Mark Seymour & The Undertow’s eagerly anticipated new album Slow Dawn and video/single Night Driving are released today via Bloodlines.

Slow Dawn is Mark Seymour’s 10th solo studio album, and the fourth to be credited to Mark Seymour & The Undertow; Mark has now released more solo albums than he has with Hunters & Collectors.

“There are stories we tell our children as they drift into sleep, stories of fear, love and light.”

As the first reviews have confirmed, Slow Dawn shows that Mark Seymour is one of Australia’s finest storytellers.

“Slow Dawn is like the Great Australian Novel. Filed with mystery and intrigue and images you’ll never forget. Mark Seymour has always dreamed big. And with Slow Dawn, he obviously set out to make a great album. Album of the year? Without a doubt. ” – STACK

“Arguably the finest album of Seymour’s storied career. With Slow Dawn, he has crafted a classic”– Rhythms

In line with the release of Slow Dawn, Mark Seymour has released the video for the next single from the album, ‘Night Driving’.

Slow Dawn – Mark’s first studio album since 2015’s Mayday – was produced by Nick DiDia (Pearl Jam, Bruce Springsteen, Powderfinger). The record showcases the power of his band The Undertow, consisting of Cameron McKenzie (Horsehead) on guitars, John Favaro (Boom Crash Opera) on bass, and Peter Maslen (Boom Crash Opera) on drums, joined by Dorian West on trumpet, keys and guitars.

“They’re a seriously great band,” Mark says proudly. “There’s a phenomenal amount of experience, and they’re really sensitive – everything they do is to serve the song.”

Slow Dawn takes the listener on an unforgettable trip that starts in Pascoe Vale and ventures to the ‘Kliptown Mud’ of South Africa, to Utah and Nevada, Williamstown in Melbourne, and Kelly Country in Victoria.

Mark Seymour and James Reyne’s Never Again national tour has been rescheduled for June-September 2021. Tickets are on sale now.

Mark Seymour & The Undertow
Album out now through Bloodlines

Slow Dawn tracklist:
1. Night Driving
2. Kliptown Mud
3. Against My Will
4. Applewood Road
5. The Demon Rum
6. Slow Dawn
7. The Dogs Of Williamstown
8. How The West Was Won
9. The Ones Who Got Away
10. Joanna
11. The Whole World Is Dreaming